Ze Weekly Nuggetsketch

My first attempt with a new program - Livebrush.

Livebrush is interesting for a couple of reasons, not least among them that it seems to present a more intuitive and fluid way to work with vector brushwork than Illustrator.

Takes a bit of getting used to, though, because what dictates the width/strength of the lines isn't pressure, but speed. The faster I move my brush, the fatter the lines I get.

That being said, I am a total nub at this, so it's entirely possible that there's a way to adjust so that the lines respond to pressure, and not speed.

The program itself seems pretty nice in terms of responsiveness, and the kinds of lines that are generated. Especially nice is that for just US$10, I'll have the option to export the entire thing as vector shapes.

I'll probably play with this some more on my upcoming holiday.

I also find it interesting how adapting to / learning this new tool has resulted in something quite far (I think) from my usual linework... Omm!

3 responses
You have talent, Grasshopper! I really like this one. Very simple, but the expression on the face is excellent.
Hrm... I don't think I'd like the speed=width mechanic. At all.

Still, fun sketch. :)

Lol. Like Tesh, I a professional, grasshopper. And sometimes, I'm even a professional grasshopper, when I'm not being a professional nugget, that is.

Teshness, yus the speed=width mechanic does take a lot of getting used to - it's why the linework looks so different (I think) from my normal stuff. I've yet to figure out how to turn it into less speed = more width (which is a lot more natural to me). I've only figured out how to turn off width altogether, which is not quite what I want. Alas!