Half-Empty Pancackle Mixes & How Knowledge Changes Perception

Sample Shake-It-Around-Half-Empty-Bottle-of-Pancackle-Mix via redmart.com

Soo, now that I have attained Pancackle Journeyman status, wherein I can craft satisfying, fluffy variants of my own pancackles that look like photo shoot pancackles, I have realised something. O.o

...I know why these half-empty pancackle mix bottles work!

See, I've always thought it was kinda nuts that people bought these things. 'Woot! Guys! I have an idea! Let's sell half-empty bottles to people and sell it as a feature! They'll totally buy it and we'll make even moar money!' >.>

But nao, nao having attained Pancackle Journeyman status, I know WHY! And I know why it works!

I figure it's 'cause if you are a Pancackle Noob, and you don't know how Pancackles work, you don't realise that the number one transformer of Fluffy Pancackles of HAPPY into Rubbery Pancackles of SAD is... overmixing of the flour.

Enter the shake-it-around-half-empty-bottle of pancackle mix, which a pancackle noob is far less likely to overmix. With these half-empty bottles, Pancackle Noobs add water, shakeshake, make pancackles that are (hopefully) fluffy, and they go, this is AWESOME!

And so what I thought was a WTF stoopid peepul clever company turns out to be a very clever company saving stoopid peepul from themselves *while making a profit*! It's brilliant, *and* it's not a con.

(That being said, if I had understood Pancackle Principles, I probably would never have come up with these gorgeous white chocolate pancackles, which basically break all the rules of fluffiness I outline above, but are still utterly amazing.)

 

6 responses
Huh... I've found that fluffiness depends mostly on how thick you make your batter. Tho it's true for cake biscuits, so it makes sense. Didn't experiment much with the mix, just the additions. Tried adding orange zest and replacing some of the milk with orange juice. They did have a nice, Jaffa-like aroma, but overall they tasted sort of watered down. Bananas and lemon, on the other hand, are a wonderful combination.

I still consider these a bizarre rip-off, tho...

WTF. My own blog ate my own comment. My own LONG comment.

:(

My own blog hates me!

Maybe it's hungry, you should feed it some pancakes...
Stoopid thing, let's try this again (luckily my home browser had the message).

Yar. It seems it's either

a) DON'T OVERMIX!

or

b) If you're going to overmix, make it SO incredibly thick that it fluffs up huge anyway.

That being said, while they are not flat or rubbery, the white chocolate pancackles are much denser than the fluffy ones I get when I barely incorporate the flour. They remind me more of scones in terms of texture.

Also, agree on the fruit, though I have not tried bananananana.

It seems the fruit basically has to be obnoxiously loud in order to come through.

Dried cranberries did great because they are obnoxiously loud, but I've found strawberries and blueberries are more pretty than anything else. Or maybe we just have tasteless strawberries and blueberries here.

Also tried an 'apple pie' pancackle series (I always use milk or cream btw), with finely diced apple, cinnamon, nutmeg, and some vanilla drink powder (the stuff they add to coffees and ice-blends at sillysnooty upmarket coffee places here). While pleasant, the apple was still kinda... not strong enuff.

Most recent tryout is passionfruit + brandy butter pancackles. Again, while passionfruits are so obnoxiously loud on their own, in the pancackle they seem to get diffused somehow. Perhaps I need to use 4-6 of them instead of just two.

Ooo regarding apples, we have quite a similar dish here... tho it uses
a massive amount of apples, like more grated apples than batter. QUITE
nice. There's a lovely savory variant, with grated zucchini, too.
Didn't make that in a while! *plot*
1 visitor upvoted this post.