Public Groupon Editorial Manual - Some of the Best Guidance on Writing Humourous Marketing Copy You'll Find on the Intarwebz (and Arguably, Anywhere Else)

https://docs.google.com/View?id=dmv9rbh_11gtqx983t

Groupon's writing style is very similar to Thinkgeek's - absurd, witty, and engaging without ever sacrificing clarity of information, and the hard-sell call to action.

I was going to write that it 'may not be appropriate for all markets and clients', and then I realisd that while it definitely may not be appropriate for all instances - what is? It's appropriate for many, many instances.

It's just that clients are often afraid.

And when clients are afraid, they fall back on corporatese.

That's one of the tragedies of copywriting. Corporatese. I can write it. I do write it. But it makes the craftsperson in me who wants to deliver a fine product sad every time.