2 responses
It's the Orwellian implications that bother me. Well, that and the trouble with behavior modification by gaming. I definitely agree it's possible... but man, that's a powerful medium that can be (and has been) abused. When the only check on the potential of the medium is the morality of the designers and the willpower of the players, well... I'm not terribly optimistic, especially if the State comes down on the side of the designers and decides that Big Brother knows best.

But yeah, an interesting talk. :) Thanks!

Yus! It does get a bit scary at the last bit, where he's describing getting points for *everything* and I'm thinking, 'He's gone off his rocker, and that sounds like a nightmare.'

XD

But before he goes frothily mad, it's indeed interesting!

(Of course, some would say, frothy madness is also interesting - but I shall ignore that sort of statement for the purposes of this comment...)